Tue 21 February

Before the flood

19.30 – 21.30 hrs

Read more

Wed 22 February

Trainspotting

19.30 – 21.30 hrs

Read more

Thursday 23 February

PechaKucha Eindhoven vol. 24

20.20 – 22.30 hrs

Read more

Mon 6, Tue 7, Wed 8 March

Arrival

20.00 – 22.00 hrs

Read more

Tuesday 7 March

Subsurface: Unseen Codes

12.40 – 13.35 hrs

Dr. James Grime
Read more

Tuesday 7, 14, 21 and 28
March

Painting

20.00 - 22.30 hrs

Remko Leeuw
Read more

Wednesday 8 March

Behind the Telescopes

20.30 – 22.10 hrs

Read more

Mon 13, Tue 14, Wed 15
March

La La Land

20.00 – 22.15 hrs

Read more

Thursday 23 March

Lego Piano

20.30 hr

Jeroen van Veen
Read more

Mon 27, Tue 28, Wed 29
March

Nocturnal Animals

20.00 – 22.00 uur

Read more

Wednesday 29 March

The Paradox of Digital Creativity

12.40 - 13.35 hrs

Drs. Tijmen Schep
Read more

Thursday 30 March

Super Silent Disco

21.00 – 1.00 hrs

Read more

Mon 3, Tue 4, Wed 5
April

I, Daniel Blake

20.00 – 21.45 hrs

Read more

Wednesday 5 April

The Great Communicators

20.30 hrs

Support act: Goddammit M
Read more

Tue 18, Wed 19 April

Hacksaw Ridge

20.00 – 22.20 hrs

Read more

Tuesday 25 April, 2 and 9
May

Playing the guitar

19.30 - 21.45 hrs

Read more

Tuesday 6 June

Synths & Sequencers

18.45 - 22.45 (including

Read more

Wednesday 23 May
11.45-13.00 hrs

Human enhancement technologies

Speaker: Prof. dr. Ruud ter Meulen

Location: Blauwe Zaal Auditorium

Biotechnologies are generally developed to heal people from severe diseases . However, many of these technologies have the potential to be used beyond the frame of therapy as a way to improve or enhance normal human capacities. Biotechnologies can help to make people think better, to improve their memory and perception, to feel happier, to improve physical skills in sports, music, dance, or to extend the normal human life-span. In view of the potential of biotechnologies (and other technologies like nanotechnologies and information technologies) to change our capacities, there is an ethical debate whether such an enhancement may alter our sense of self, our human nature and our relation with other life forms. Moreover, there is a concern about the impact of these technologies on our society and the position of vulnerable groups. Is enhancement a good thing in itself or will it expose our human nature, our personal life and our society to irreversible damage? Professor Ruud ter Meulen (Centre for Ethics in Medicine, University of Bristol ) addresses some of these questions, particularly those concerning the moral value of enhancement.